Motorists are being warned to remain wary of new speed limits, if travelling in Wales from 17th September.

The 20mph speed limits have already been trialled in places such as Abergavenny in recent months, but will now be rolled out across Wales.

Restricted roads are usually located in residential and built-up areas where there are lots of people. 

They often have street lights on them, placed no more than 200 yards apart.

The Welsh Government say that they are making the switch to a default 20mph speed limit for the following reasons:

To reduce the number of collisions and severe injuries from them (also reducing the impact on the NHS from treating the people who are injured)

To encourage more people to walk and cycle in communities

To help to improve health and well-being

To make streets safer

To safeguard the environment for future generations.

Wales will be one of the first countries in the world, and the first nation in the UK, to introduce legislation to have a default 20mph speed limit on roads where cars mix with pedestrians and cyclists. 

The Welsh Government has worked with highway authorities, Trunk Road Agents (TRAs), who operate the strategic road network, and local authorities, who are responsible for county roads.

The Government recognises not all roads with a current 30mph limit will be suitable to change to 20mph. 

These roads will be known as exceptions. 

Local Authorities will consider with their communities which roads should remain at 30mph and there will be 30mph signs to tell you this. 

The Welsh Government has published a map on DataMapWales that shows which roads would stay at 30mph. 

All highway authorities must follow the statutory process on traffic regulation Orders to make exceptions. 

Eight communities were selected as first phase settlements to introduce 20mph speed limits:

  • St Dogmaels, Pembrokeshire
  • Llanelli North, Carmarthenshire
  • St Brides Major, Vale of Glamorgan
  • Central North, Cardiff
  • Cilfrew Village, Neath Port Talbot
  • Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
  • Severnside, Monmouthshire
  • Buckley, Flintshire