People arriving in the United Kingdom must self-isolate for 14 days from the 8th June to help slow the spread of coronavirus, the government has said.

Travellers will need to tell the government where they will quarantine, with enforcement through random spot checks and £1,000 fines in England.

These are the new quarantine rules that the government has put in place.

  • People will have to provide an address where they will remain for 14 days and there will be a ¬£100 fine for those not completing a “contact locator” form
  • Those arriving in England could be fined up to ¬£1,000 if they fail to self-isolate, while governments in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland can also impose penalties
  • People will be asked to drive in their own car to their destination, where possible
  • If people don’t provide an address, the government will arrange accommodation
  • Going to work, school, or public areas, or using public transport or taxis will not be allowed. Visitors will only be permitted if they are providing essential support
  • Exemptions will apply to road haulage and freight workers, medical staff, those arriving from the Republic of Ireland, Channel Islands, or the Isle of Man, and seasonal agricultural workers