Theresa May scraped through a crunch House of Commons vote after a Tory Remainer rebellion failed to alter her post-Brexit customs plans. Jesse Norman (MP for Hereford & Herefordshire South) and Bill Wiggin (MP for Herefordshire North) both voted against the Remainer rebellions proposals.

Winning by just six votes, the government defeated an amendment to its Trade Bill, which was pushed by rebel Conservative MPs, by 307 to 301.

The group of 12 Tory rebels had attempted to commit the government to entering a customs union with the EU, unless an alternative plan for frictionless trade is agreed with Brussels by mid-January.

However, their bid failed when four Labour Brexiteers staged their own rebellion and sided with the Conservative government, which has consistently ruled out entering a customs union with the EU.