South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Botswana, Eswatini and Zimbabwe will all be added to the UK’s red travel list from 12pm tomorrow due to concerns over a new variant of COVID-19 that could be more transmissible than the current Delta variant and could also see current vaccines prove less effective.

Health Secretary Sajid Javid took to social media to announce the news this evening. A full update is expected shortly.